Submitting For Faculty And Municipal Elections Continues; All Studies So Far Are Of Uncontested Races

Smiley face

With rather less than 2 weeks left within the submitting for varsity and municipal elections, all experiences to this point are of uncontested races in Hopkins County.

Sulphur Springs

In Sulphur Springs, the incumbents are the one candidates who had filed candidacy in each the Metropolis Council and faculty board elections.

Faculty Board

On the primary day of the submitting interval, Kerry Wright and Jason Dietze filed candidate functions in search of a spot on the Could 1 Sulphur Springs ISD Board of Trustees Election. Incumbents Wright and Dietze are in search of one other 3-year time period on the college board.


Dietze was first elected to the college board in 2009. He was re-elected secretary in 2020. He beforehand served as vp and president. Wright was appointed to the board in August of 2017 to fill the unexpired time period of Don Sapaugh. Wright was beforehand on the board for seven years, which included serving as secretary, vp and president of the college board, however resigned in 2016.

Candidates might receive and return an software for a spot on the Could 1, 2021 Election poll for 2 full 3-year seats on SSISD Board of Trustees from Eight a.m. to 4:15 p.m. Monday-Thursday and from Eight a.m. to Four p.m. Fridays Jan. 13-Feb. 12 within the Tax Workplace of the SSISD Administration Constructing, situated at 631 Connally St. All functions filed are public information and open to inspection upon request.

For added info, contact Sandra Gib, SSISD Tax Assessor/Collector, at 903-885-2153, extension 1111.

Metropolis Council

Additionally on Jan. 13, the primary day of submitting, all 4 incumbents filed candidacy within the Could 1, 2021 Sulphur Springs Metropolis Council Election. Locations 1, 2 and three are for a full 3-year time period on the Metropolis Council every. Place 5 is for a 1-year time period.

All 4 seats had been on the 2020 poll because of the resignations of 4 council members in the identical week in December of 2019. The Metropolis Council Election was to be held in spring 2020, however as a result of COVID-19 was postponed till November 2020. 

Incumbents Harold Nash Sr. and Gary Spraggins filed Wednesday morning, Jan. 13, for a spot on the Could 1 Sulphur Springs Metropolis Council poll.

Nash was appointed in December 2019  the Metropolis Council to fill the Place 2 seat till the 2020 election. He then ran and was unopposed within the Nov. 3, 2020 election for the 1-year unexpired Place 2 seat. Nash is now in search of a full 3-year time period on the Metropolis Council for Place 2.

Spraggins gained the Nov. 3, 2020 election, receiving  71.24 % of the votes for the Place 5 seat for one 12 months, and is now in search of election to serve the ultimate 12 months of the unexpired time period for Place 5.

Jay W. Julian filed later within the day Jan. 13 for a spot on the Could 1, 2021 Metropolis Council Election poll for Place 1. He was considered one of 4 candidates on the November 2020 poll for the Place 1 seat on the council. A run-off election was known as between Julian and Mark Bradley after nobody candidate obtained 50 % or extra of the votes within the Nov. 3, 2020 election for Place 1. Julian gained the December 2020 runoff for the remaining months of the unexpired Place 1 time period with 55.45 % of the votes solid. Julian is now in search of a full 3-year time period on the Metropolis Council.

Oscar Aguilar signed up Wednesday afternoon, Jan. 13, to run for Place Three on Sulphur Springs Metropolis Council. He ran for and drew no opponents in 2020 for Place Three on the Metropolis Council. Aguilar is now in search of a full 3-year time period on the Metropolis Council.

Candidate submitting for the Could 2021 Sulphur Springs Metropolis Council Elections will proceed throughout common enterprise hours, 8-5 p.m. Monday-Friday, Feb. 12, at Sulphur Springs Municipal Constructing, 201 North Davis St. Functions could also be mailed to 125 South Davis St.


Faculty Board

Solely two candidates had filed as of Friday, Jan. 29, for the Could 1 Yantis ISD Board of Trustees Election to fill for 3 seats on the college board, and neither was an incumbent. Stacey Batchelor, a remedy coordinator, and Ashly Vivion, an workplace/accounting clerk have filed candidacy for the a spot on the Could 1 election poll.

Yantis ISD

Presently serving in these seats are Stacey Wetzel, Michael Burnett and Tyra Kenemore. Wetzel has served two full phrases on the college board. Burnett and Kenemore are finishing a full time period on the college board.

Candidate submitting will probably be carried out from Eight a.m. to Four p.m. Monday-Friday, Jan. 13 to Feb. 12, 2021, at 111 South Predominant Road in Yantis. Functions for a spot on the poll could also be mailed to 105 West Oak Road in Yantis 754597.

Further info is out there on the college web site (http://www.yantisisd.web/) or  clicking right here, or contacting Kristy Beech at [email protected]t or 903-383-2462.


The Metropolis of Como companions with Como-Pickton Consolidated ISD each 2 years to carry elections, every sharing prices for gear and internet hosting an election.

Metropolis Council

The Metropolis of Como is scheduled to carry an election on Could 1 for all three locations on the Metropolis Council.

The Metropolis of Como had obtained no candidate functions as of Friday, Jan. 29, for Metropolis Council.

Presently, Jerry Radney serves as mayor. As mayor professional temp, he stepped as much as mayor when Darla Henry resigned the place in August 2020, as a result of a transfer out of the town. Austin Baxley, a trainer at Como-Pickton faculty, was then appointed to the council as commissioner. Steve Smith was serving within the different commissioner seat on Como Metropolis Council till his current resignation. As an alternative of appointing somebody to serve within the second fee seat for a couple of months, the Council has opted to go away that seat empty till the election.

Submitting for the 2 commissioner seats and mayor continues Monday-Friday from Eight a.m. to five p.m. via Feb. 12, 2021, at Metropolis Corridor, 104 Mill Road in Como. For added details about the Could 1 Como Metropolis Council Election, name 903-488-3434.

Faculty Board

Como-Pickton CISD can even be holding trustees elections on Could 1, an everyday election for 3 four-year time period seats on the board and a particular election to fill a two-year unexpired time period seat on the CPCISD Board of Trustees.

Como-Pickton CISD

Presently, Mark Humphrey, Shiloh Childress and Jessica Pegues presently serve within the full time period seats. A particular election has additionally been known as to fill the remaining two years of DJ Carr’s seat, in response to the C-P CISD Elections Officer.

Candidates might choose up functions within the CPCISD Administration Workplace, 13017 Freeway 11 east of Como, from Eight a.m. to Four p.m. weekdays via Feb. 12. Further info, together with necessities and eligibility can be found on the faculty web site, https://www.cpcisd.web/, beneath District and Faculty Board menu choices or  clicking right here.

Smiley face

Supply hyperlink